Mexican Fried Rice – Easy Peasy and Tasty

Standard

Sometimes I just get into a lazy phase where I cannot be bothered to do anything……….hence the silence on the blog. Its like I am in this fog where I have all the words and devices required to express it but cannot get myself to do it. I still carry on with the daily routine but anything that requires me to write, call or email someone – sometimes even important calls – I cannot be interested enough to do it….. I keep thinking and thinking about what I need to do and thats all I do……..

So today being a better day than most days, I decided to put up a recipe that I experimented with on the weekend. S wants meat and fried rice/biriyani on the weekends. I am fed up of eating the same thing all the time – the only exception being dhal which I can eat for days on end – and the only dhal I will eat that way is made by me. That recipe should go down in the hall of fame of recipes for no matter who and how many eat it, they cannot stop raving about it for it is that tasty.

But coming back to this post, I was at the library the other day. Usually I pick up a bunch of fiction novels and get back but that day I felt like checking out some of the cookbooks at the library. So after enquiring at the information counter and being told that they have a huge collection of books – I started checking them out. I was on the lookout for some Asian cookbooks considering my penchant for the food…….but did not find them very interesting. A flashback is that while shifting to C from A, I had to literally hand a couple of cookbooks to strangers at the airport as there was no space for me to store them in my luggage. One was an Asian cookbook with pictures for all the recipes and the other an amazing curry cookbook by Madhur Jaffery. All I can hope is that someone is really enjoying having those books! If not, I would’nt mind getting them back!!!!!!!!!

Anyways, while browsing through the different cookbooks available, I happened to chance upon Rick Bayliss (I might have the name wrong!) Mexican Everyday book. Pictures looked interesting and so I got it home.

Shift to Saturday Night – S is playing virtual cricket and I am bored out of my mind so decided to start browsing the cookbook. And chanced upon a few interesting recipes. One of them was a simple Mexican Garlic Fried Rice. S was not in the mood to have plain rice and wanted a simple fried rice and this seemed to fit the bill. And after tweaking the recipe a bit and making it , I realised that it really was a very simple but tasty rice…..I am definitely going to make it again!

Ingredients

3 cups Basmati Rice

1/2 tsp ginger garlic paste

6 cups stock or 3 cups water and 3 cups stock

2 Bay leaves

1 medium onion diced

3-4 green chillies slit

salt to taste

Oil for cooking

Coriander for garnish

Method

Heat the oil and fry the onions and chillies in it, Once they are slightly browned, add the bay leaves and fry for a couple of minutes. Now add the ginger garlic paste and fry till it is fragrant. Add the washed rice to it and fry till the rice pearls become slightly transparent. Now add the stock and water to it. Taste and add more salt if required. Add a few sprigs of coriander to it (optional)

Let it come to a boil. Then close the lid to trap the steam in – I use aluminium foil to cover the vents in the lid, reduce the heat to medium low and cook till the rice is completely cooked.

Garnish with coriander and serve!

Note:You can use any stock – Chicken or veg or Beef. I used Chicken stock which I had at home. I also used a mix of stock and water – so the taste was not too chickenish but gave a mild flavour to the rice which complimented the baked chicken I served it with. The rice appears slightly yellow because of the turmeric I use to preserve the ginger garlic paste I make in advance and store in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

