Dumpling sauce

Standard

I love asian food. And by asian, I do not mean just Indian but including chinese, korean, vietnamese, indonesian, thai, malaysian – how can i forget malaysian!, sri lankan!

People who frequent yum cha restaurants will know what i mean when i say dumplings are yummy! Especially the steamed shrimp ones.Though I have not yet started to make my own dumplings at home, I do buy frozen dumplings and recently got my husband hooked onto them as well – steamed, boiled and gyoza too! To go with these, I have tried different types of sauces but I was always after the perfect sauce recipe which is at the same time spicy, tangy and sour. So, everytime I went to asian grocery stores, I started looking around for dumpling sauces and reading the ingredients off the back of the bottles.

After going through a dozen of them, i decided to come up with my own recipe. And needless to say, it was perfect for the gyoza.

Ingredients

3 tbspns soy sauce

1tspn rice wine vinegar

1 tbspn garlic juice/3 garlic cloves grated or crushed real fine

1/2 tbspn sugar

1 tbspn sriracha chilli sauce (optional)

Method

Mix all the ingredients together. If you think it needs to be balanced, add 1/2 tspn of the ingredient you want to balance out the rest of them.

(Sriracha sauce is an optional element here. I like my sauce garlicky and spicy and I find that the this gives it a spicy tang)

Now serve it in a small wide deep bowl so everyone can easily dip it without having to struggle and enjoy!

Note: This sauce can be stored in the fridge for a month. I have’nt tried to keep it for longer than that! But you are welcome to try and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

