Indian Style Fish Fry

Standard

I love fish. Bony, no bones – I still love it! My earliest memory is of mom cleaning the flakes of pomfrets that dad had got from one of his trips to fish farms. Though it stank, once she had marinated it with spices and fried it up, it was tasty!!!!!!! And there were times, when my dad literally forced me to eat shrimps and crab but that is a story for another post.

 My husband does not like fish. He hates the bones that he has to carefully pick out while eating. That he says reduces his enjoyment! But once in a while, I ensure that we do get some fresh fish home.

I like the supermarkets in Toronto for they have fresh fish that you choose and they kill it and clean it right in front of you. We have gotten Tilapia a few times which I have to say is one of the tastiest fish I have eaten! Before, I used to think that only pomfrets mesh well with our Indian spices. I like grilled Australian barramundi but now that I am in Canada, that is only a memory! But I did find one in one of the Asian Supermarkets I frequent.

 Though coming back to the reason for this post, we got carp fish one day and decided to try it in an Indian Style. So made a quick spice rub and marinated the fish overnight. Next day, we shallow fried it and it was yummy!!!!!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

3-4 pieces of your favourite fish

1 teaspoon turmeric

2 teaspoons chilli powder

1 teaspoon garam masala

salt to taste

lemon juice

semolina or breadcrumbs (optional)

2 tbspn oil

non-stick pan

Method

Mix all the dry spices together and rub it on both sides of the fish. squeeze the meon juice on top. Marinate it for a couple of hours or overnight. If overnight, leave it in the fridge. If you want to save it for another day, freeze it. Then take it out and leave it in the fridge the night before you cook it.

Now heat oil in the pan. Take the semolina/breadcrumbs on a plate. Dip each piece in the semolina and place it in the pan. once one side is cooked, turn it over. Once cooked, place it on a plate and sprinkle some coriander sprigs on top. This gives a crispy exterior and a soft inner flesh. Serve and eat!!!!!!!!

Note: The pics show fish which has been fried without dipping in semolina or breadcrumbs. It is also good but I prefer the one with semolina!

Leave a Reply

